top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureLouise Donegan

Giddy Yourself Up To The Kelpies

If you live in Scotland, which I'm pretty sure the majority of people reading this are, or are planning on visiting Scotland soon, I'd recommend a visit to The Kelpies in Falkirk. For me and Mark it was a random decision we'd made a couple of hours before we left, I'd never been before so I managed to tick it off the list! 


Before we got onto the motorway, we decided to go through the Costa - fortune drive-thru for a coffee. I'm 100% sure the girl serving us didn't like us - half way down the motorway, Mark spilt his coffee all over the car because the 'Barissta' never put the lid on properly. 


Usually in this situation I would whip out my Mary Poppins handbag with all the emergency essentials but it just so happens on this one occasion I decided to de-clutter my bag before I went out. So obviously I patched those random tissues at the bottom of my bag. 


Drama over, we continued our drive down the motorway? Up the motorway?... around about a 40 minute drive later we arrived. 



The Kelpies - basically two GIANT horse heads. My favourite one is the one mid-neigh. Kinda looks like me trying to work a snapchat filter. 


They stand an impressive 30 meters high - and if you visit at night they light up in lots of pretty colours. We visited in the evening, so it was lightish when we arrived and we managed to catch the sunset too. 



It was pretty cold (hence the pom pom head) so we did a quick lap and walked about for a bit before heading back to the car for a heat! 


Since we were in Falkirk we decided to add he extra 10 minutes onto the drive and visit the Falkirk wheel. By the time we got there it was shut but we managed to find MINI KELPIES! 


These have been displayed locally, nationally and internationally at events including Bryant Park in New York - they're pretty well travelled for a couple of horse heads. 


Giant Mark or tiny Kelpies? ...



It's free to visit The Kelpies which is an added bonus, however if you want there's an option to do a tour, which you can buy tickets for online (Adult: £7.50, kids go free). 

Its definitely worth a visit, especially when they look this pretty... 



I am totally not taking credit for this photo either, Mark ^^^^ 

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page